CCTS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCTS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 19 Content Areas

TL;DR
  • The "19 domains" are TIA's published Certified CTS 300/400 course modules, not a confirmed scored exam blueprint.
  • No module is publicly identified as highest-weighted, so skipping any of the 19 is risky.
  • Certification requires both a passed final exam and witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills.
  • The $950 registration fee covers four days of instructor training and certification, not an exam-only charge.

What This List of 19 Areas Actually Is

Before diving into content, it's worth being precise about what "19 exam domains" means for the Certified Commercial Tire Service Instructor (CCTS) credential issued through the Tire Industry Association (TIA). TIA's current public course listing for the 400-level instructor program names 19 modules that make up the Certified CTS 300/400 curriculum. These are published course topics - the building blocks instructors teach and candidates must know - not a verified, officially weighted examination blueprint. TIA has not released a question-by-question breakdown, domain percentages, or a statement identifying which module counts most on the final exam.

That distinction matters. Some study resources treat every certification's content outline as a precise scoring map. For CCTS, the honest answer is that the final exam is course-administered by TIA, and the specifics of question count, time limit, format, and numerical passing score are not publicly verified. What is verified is that candidates must pass a final examination and complete a witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills assessment - written knowledge alone does not confer certification. If you want the deeper mechanics of how the written and practical pieces fit together, the CCTS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt walks through preparation strategy in more depth.

Why This List Still Matters: Even without an official weighting, these 19 modules are the only publicly documented content scope for CCTS. Studying all 19, rather than guessing which ones "count," is the only defensible approach given the unverified blueprint.

All 19 CCTS Content Areas at a Glance

Here is the full list of published modules, using the current wording from TIA's commercial tire service training page. Note that the instructor brochure uses "Demount/Mount" for the two demount-and-mount modules, while the website uses slightly different phrasing - we've used the current site wording below for consistency.

#Module NameCategory
1IntroductionFoundational / Safety
2TiresFoundational
3Rims, Wheels & HubsFoundational
4OSHA RegulationsFoundational / Safety
5Road Service SafetyFoundational / Safety
6Jacking & Lifting, Lock-Out/Tag-OutFoundational / Safety
7Tire/Wheel InspectionCore Hands-On
8RISTCore Hands-On
9Hub-Pilot ServiceCore Hands-On
10Stud-Pilot ServiceCore Hands-On
11Demountable Rim ServiceCore Hands-On
12Single Piece Demount & MountCore Hands-On
13Single Piece InflationCore Hands-On
14Multi-Piece Demount & MountCore Hands-On
15Multi-Piece InflationCore Hands-On
16Balance & Run-OutAdvanced
17RepairAdvanced
18Charts & TablesAdvanced
19USTMA GuidelinesAdvanced

Because no exhaustive blueprint has been published, treat this table as a checklist of required knowledge rather than a weighted study plan. For a broader look at how difficult candidates find the overall process, see How Hard Is the CCTS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Foundational Domains: Safety, Tires, and Wheel-End Basics

The first six modules establish the safety and terminology foundation everything else builds on. Shop instructors routinely emphasize these early because mistakes in these areas carry the highest injury risk in commercial tire service.

Domain 1: Introduction

Covers orientation to the commercial tire service trade and workplace safety basics. This module absorbs what some older curricula split into separate intro-level content, so candidates should expect general safety culture, PPE expectations, and shop hazard awareness folded in here.

  • General workplace hazard recognition
  • PPE requirements specific to tire service bays

Domain 2: Tires

Fundamental tire construction, type identification, and service considerations across commercial radial and bias-ply designs.

  • Reading sidewall markings and load/speed information
  • Distinguishing tire types relevant to commercial fleets

Domain 3: Rims, Wheels & Hubs

Component identification across the wheel assembly - a prerequisite for nearly every later hands-on module, since hub-pilot, stud-pilot, and demountable rim work all depend on correctly identifying these parts first.

Domain 4: OSHA Regulations

Regulatory knowledge tied to commercial tire service, including how federal workplace safety rules intersect with shop procedures.

Domain 5: Road Service Safety

Specific hazards of servicing tires away from the shop - roadside positioning, traffic exposure, and the added risk profile of mobile service calls.

Domain 6: Jacking & Lifting, Lock-Out/Tag-Out

Lifting equipment safety and lock-out/tag-out procedure - a module that pairs mechanical competence with strict procedural discipline, since an error here has immediate physical consequences.

Core Hands-On Domains: Inspection Through Inflation

Modules 7 through 15 form the technical core of the credential - the hands-on skills a practical evaluator will actually watch you perform during the witnessed shop skills assessment.

Domain 7: Tire/Wheel Inspection

Systematic inspection sequence before any service work begins - identifying damage, wear patterns, and conditions that disqualify a tire or wheel from continued service.

Domain 8: RIST

A dedicated module in TIA's own course naming; candidates should treat it as its own topic rather than folding it into general inspection content, since it appears as a distinct line item in the published curriculum.

Domains 9 & 10: Hub-Pilot and Stud-Pilot Service

Two distinct wheel-mounting systems common on commercial vehicles, each with its own torque sequence, component inspection points, and failure modes.

  • Correct mounting hardware sequence for each system
  • Torque and re-torque procedures

Domain 11: Demountable Rim Service

Procedures specific to demountable rim assemblies, a category distinct from both single-piece and multi-piece wheel work covered later.

Domains 12 & 13: Single Piece Demount & Mount, Single Piece Inflation

Core single-piece wheel procedures. Inflation is treated as a separate module from demount/mount, signaling that inflation safety - cage use, air pressure control, standing position - gets independent emphasis.

Domains 14 & 15: Multi-Piece Demount & Mount, Multi-Piece Inflation

Multi-piece wheel assemblies carry higher risk during inflation due to the possibility of component separation, which is likely why TIA again separates demount/mount from inflation as its own module.

Practical Weight Alert: Modules 9 through 15 cover the physical procedures most likely to appear in the witnessed shop skills portion of certification. Written knowledge of torque sequences and inflation safety won't substitute for demonstrating them correctly under observation.

Advanced Domains: Balance, Repair, Charts, and Standards

The final four modules round out the curriculum with diagnostic, repair, and reference-material competence.

Domain 16: Balance & Run-Out

Diagnosing vibration and wear issues tied to wheel balance and run-out measurement.

Domain 17: Repair

Tire repair procedures and the criteria for determining when a repair is appropriate versus when a tire must be removed from service.

Domain 18: Charts & Tables

Reading manufacturer and industry reference charts - load/inflation tables, fitment guides - accurately and quickly under exam conditions.

Domain 19: USTMA Guidelines

Industry standards published by the U.S. Tire Manufacturers Association, as they apply to commercial tire service practice.

How Content Areas Map to the Written Exam and Shop Skills Check

TIA's own program description makes clear that certification rests on two legs: a passed final examination and a separately witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills demonstration. The specifics of the written exam - total question count, scored versus unscored items, time limit, item format, exam version, and numerical passing score - are not publicly documented, and TIA has not disclosed a pass rate. If precise scoring mechanics matter to your preparation, CCTS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and CCTS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows address what is and isn't currently verifiable on those fronts.

What is reasonably certain is that the 19 modules above represent the full content scope candidates are expected to master for both halves of the assessment - the written test draws on the same knowledge base the practical evaluator checks hands-on. Practicing with realistic questions across all 19 areas on our practice test platform is one way to surface weak spots before the four-day training event, since there's no substitute for repetition across the full content list when no official weighting narrows your focus.

Key Takeaway

Don't prioritize modules by guessing which ones are "tested more." Since TIA hasn't published domain weights, budget roughly equal study attention across all 19, with extra hands-on repetition on the mounting, inflation, and lifting modules where the practical check carries real physical risk.

Registration, the $950 Training Fee, and What It Actually Covers

TIA's current official registration form, last revised August 14, 2026, lists a $950 fee tied to a four-day instructor training and certification event - not an exam-only charge. There's no published member/non-member price split. It's important not to confuse the four-day attendance schedule with the actual exam duration; the training event length and the written exam's time limit are separate things, and the exam's specific time limit has not been publicly verified.

Recertification happens every two years through an online exam, with no separate continuing-education-unit requirement published. Renewal fees and renewal test specifications are not publicly disclosed. For a full cost breakdown including what's known and what isn't, see CCTS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. Eligibility-wise, TIA describes this program as intended for personnel with at least two years of hands-on experience - there's no published college-degree requirement, no separate classroom-hour minimum, and no stated reference count, which CCTS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify covers in more detail.

Don't Confuse These Two Numbers: The four-day training schedule is an attendance timetable, not the exam's time limit. Treat them as unrelated figures until TIA publishes exam-specific timing.

Who Hires People With This Credential

Because CCTS centers on instructing commercial tire service - the full scope spanning tires, wheel-end hardware, and both single- and multi-piece wheel procedures - holders typically work in commercial fleet maintenance operations, tire dealerships with commercial service bays, and in-house training programs at trucking and fleet companies that need a qualified instructor to certify their own technicians. The role itself is instructional: a CCTS-credentialed person is positioned to train and sign off on other technicians' competence in the same 19 content areas, rather than simply performing the work solo. If you're weighing career direction, CCTS Jobs and CCTS Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis look at where this credential tends to lead, and Is the CCTS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 weighs the investment against the training cost discussed above.

Building a Domain-by-Domain Study Plan

With 19 modules and no published weighting, the most defensible approach is sequencing study to mirror how the content builds on itself - safety and component identification first, then hands-on mounting/inflation procedures, then diagnostic and reference-material topics last.

Week 1

Safety & Foundations

  • Domains 1-6: Introduction, Tires, Rims/Wheels/Hubs, OSHA, Road Service Safety, Jacking/Lifting/LOTO
  • Memorize component names before moving to procedures
Week 2

Inspection & Wheel-End Systems

  • Domains 7-10: Tire/Wheel Inspection, RIST, Hub-Pilot Service, Stud-Pilot Service
  • Drill torque sequences until they're automatic
Week 3

Demount, Mount & Inflation

  • Domains 11-15: Demountable Rim Service through Multi-Piece Inflation
  • Practice inflation safety positioning repeatedly - this is a practical-skills hotspot
Week 4

Diagnostics & Reference Material

  • Domains 16-19: Balance & Run-Out, Repair, Charts & Tables, USTMA Guidelines
  • Run full-scope practice questions on the practice test site covering all 19 areas before training day

This sequencing is editorial, not an official study order from TIA - but it follows the same logical progression the module list itself suggests: safety and identification before hands-on procedure, and hands-on procedure before diagnostic refinement. For a broader methodology on pacing your review, the CCTS Study Guide 2026 and the CCTS Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts are useful companions to this domain breakdown.

FAQ

Are these 19 areas officially the exam's scored domains?

Not confirmed. They are TIA's published Certified CTS 300/400 course modules. No official, exhaustive exam blueprint or domain weighting has been publicly released.

Which domain is weighted highest on the exam?

None is publicly identified. TIA has not disclosed domain weights, so no module should be assumed more heavily tested than another.

Does passing the written exam alone earn certification?

No. Certification requires both a passed final exam and a separately witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills assessment. Written study does not replace the practical check.

Ready to pass your CCTS exam?

Put this into practice with free CCTS questions across every exam domain.