CCTS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCTS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • TIA does not publicly disclose a CCTS pass rate - any specific percentage you see elsewhere is unverified.
  • CCTS requires both a TIA-administered final exam and a witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills assessment.
  • The $950 fee covers four days of instructor training and certification, not a standalone exam sitting.
  • Candidates need at least two years of hands-on experience; no degree or classroom-hour minimum is published.

Why "Pass Rate" Is the Wrong First Question

If you landed here searching for a specific CCTS pass rate percentage, here's the honest answer: the Tire Industry Association (TIA) has not published one. There is no official score to quote, no "X% fail on their first attempt" statistic, and no breakdown by region, employer type, or prior experience level. That absence of data is itself the most important fact in this article, and treating it as such is far more useful than repeating a made-up number copied from an unrelated credential that happens to share the same acronym.

Certified Commercial Tire Service Instructor (CCTS) status - officially the "Certified CTS Instructor, 400 Level" course, and recognized under that name in O*NET - is a TIA-administered program, not a third-party certification exam run by an outside testing vendor. That structural difference matters. When a credential is delivered by one organization from curriculum to final sign-off, pass-rate transparency tends to look very different than it does for large, vendor-proctored professional exams. TIA has not identified an external exam vendor for CCTS, and it has not released scored/unscored item counts, time limits, or a numerical passing score for the initial assessment.

What this means for you: Don't plan your prep around a target pass-rate percentage that doesn't exist. Plan it around mastering the actual course modules and practical skills - the two things TIA has confirmed are required.

What TIA Actually Discloses About CCTS Outcomes

TIA's public materials for the Commercial Tire Service program focus on structure, not statistics. Here is what is verifiable from the current registration materials and official course pages, versus what remains unconfirmed:

ElementStatus
Pass/fail rateNot publicly disclosed
Final exam question count, format, time limitUnverified
Numerical passing scoreUnverified
Practical shop skills requirementConfirmed - witnessed and signed off
Training/certification feeConfirmed - $950 per current registration form (revised Aug. 14, 2026)
Training durationConfirmed - four-day attendance schedule (not the exam duration)
Experience prerequisiteConfirmed - at least two years hands-on experience described
Recertification cycleConfirmed - every two years, online exam

That table is deliberately conservative. Several items you might expect - open-book rules, calculator use, adaptive testing, remote proctoring, retake policy - simply aren't published anywhere in TIA's current materials. If another source gives you a confident number for any of these, treat it skeptically unless it cites the same official TIA pages.

Two Hurdles, Not One: Written Exam Plus Practical Sign-Off

One reason a single "pass rate" number would be misleading even if TIA published one: CCTS isn't a single pass/fail event. Certification requires success on the final written examination and a witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills demonstration. Written practice alone does not confer certification - you have to physically demonstrate the work under supervision.

This two-part structure changes how you should think about "failure." A candidate might pass the written portion comfortably but need another attempt at a specific practical task - say, multi-piece rim demounting under safe lockout conditions - before sign-off. Conversely, someone with years of shop experience might sail through the practical component but need deliberate review of regulatory material (OSHA Regulations, USTMA Guidelines) that isn't part of daily routine. Because the two hurdles test different skill types, a single aggregate pass rate would obscure more than it reveals even if TIA released one.

Key Takeaway

Budget separate preparation time for written-knowledge domains and for hands-on technique. Treating CCTS prep as "study for a test" alone will leave the practical half under-prepared.

The 19 Modules That Determine Your Readiness

TIA's current Commercial Tire Service curriculum is organized into 19 named modules. These are published course topics - not a confirmed, weighted examination blueprint - but they are the best public signal of what a well-prepared instructor candidate needs to know cold. For a full breakdown of each one, see the CCTS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 19 Content Areas.

High-stakes technical modules

These cover the hands-on core of commercial tire service and tend to carry the most practical-assessment weight:

  • Hub-Pilot Service and Stud-Pilot Service
  • Demountable Rim Service
  • Single Piece Demount & Mount and Single Piece Inflation
  • Multi-Piece Demount & Mount and Multi-Piece Inflation
  • Balance & Run-Out
  • Repair

Safety and regulatory modules

These modules are where written-knowledge gaps most often surface, because they're easy to under-review if you already work in a shop daily:

  • OSHA Regulations
  • Road Service Safety
  • Jacking & Lifting, Lock-Out/Tag-Out
  • RIST (the tire inspection decision framework)
  • Tire/Wheel Inspection
  • USTMA Guidelines
  • Charts & Tables

Rounding out the list are Introduction (which retains workplace safety content), Tires, Rims/Wheels & Hubs - foundational modules that everything else builds on. No module is confirmed as the single highest-weighted domain; treat all 19 as material you need to know, not a list you can selectively skip.

Who's Taking the CCTS Exam - and Why That Matters

CCTS is designed for personnel who already have meaningful hands-on tire service experience and are moving toward training other technicians - shop leads, service managers, fleet maintenance trainers, and dealers who need an internal instructor. That's a different candidate profile than someone sitting an entry-level technician exam for the first time.

This matters for how you interpret any pass/fail discussion you encounter: a program built for experienced personnel preparing to teach others is going to have a different candidate pool than a general public credential. If you're trying to gauge your own odds, your real comparison point isn't a hypothetical national average - it's whether you can confidently explain and demonstrate each of the 19 modules to someone else, since that's the actual bar for an instructor. For a broader look at how demanding that bar is in practice, see How Hard Is the CCTS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Experience Requirement vs. Exam Readiness

TIA describes the Certified CTS Instructor, 400 Level program as intended for personnel with at least two years of hands-on experience. There is no published college-degree requirement, no separate classroom-hour minimum, and no stated reference-count requirement beyond that experience description. Full eligibility details are covered in CCTS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Experience isn't automatic readiness: Two years in a bay doing routine work doesn't guarantee fluency in every module - many technicians rarely touch multi-piece rim systems or formal RIST inspection documentation, yet both are part of the instructor curriculum. Audit your own gaps against the module list before assuming experience alone will carry you through.

This is also where the four-day training schedule needs a clear boundary drawn around it: attendance length is not exam duration, and it shouldn't be mistaken for how long you have to prepare. The four days are instructional delivery time; your personal review of weak modules should happen before you arrive, not just during the course itself.

Where Candidates Actually Struggle

Because TIA hasn't released item-level data, nobody can say definitively which module causes the most trouble. But based on the structure of the curriculum itself, a few patterns are worth planning around:

  • Regulatory recall under pressure. OSHA Regulations and USTMA Guidelines content is rule-based and reference-heavy - the kind of material that's easy to recognize but hard to recall precisely when asked to explain it to someone else.
  • Multi-piece rim systems. Many technicians work predominantly on single-piece wheel assemblies. The Multi-Piece Demount & Mount and Multi-Piece Inflation modules cover failure modes and sequencing that single-piece-focused techs may not practice often.
  • Charts & Tables fluency. Reading inflation tables, load/pressure charts, and matching specifications quickly is a distinct skill from general tire knowledge, and it's one instructors have to model clearly for trainees.
  • Explaining RIST, not just doing it. The inspection decision process is second nature to experienced techs doing it themselves; teaching the logic behind each step to a trainee is a different, harder task.

None of these are confirmed as the "hardest" domain in any official sense - no highest-weighted domain is identifiable from public materials. But they're reasonable places to start a diagnostic self-check before you commit your study hours.

A Realistic Prep Timeline Built Around the Course

Rather than a generic weekly study template, build your schedule around the four-day training structure and the specific modules most likely to need outside reinforcement. Use the CCTS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt for a more detailed walkthrough.

Weeks 1-2

Foundation review

  • Re-read Introduction, Tires, and Rims, Wheels & Hubs modules
  • Self-audit experience gaps against all 19 modules
Weeks 3-4

Regulatory and safety modules

  • Drill OSHA Regulations, Road Service Safety, Jacking & Lifting/Lock-Out-Tag-Out
  • Practice explaining RIST and Tire/Wheel Inspection logic aloud, as if teaching
Weeks 5-6

Hands-on technique

  • Rehearse Hub-Pilot, Stud-Pilot, Demountable Rim, and both Demount/Mount and Inflation modules on real equipment
  • Work through Balance & Run-Out and Repair procedures step by step
Final week before training

Integration

Cost Context: What the $950 Actually Covers

The current official registration form (revised August 14, 2026) lists $950 for the four-day instructor training and certification package. This is not framed as an exam-only fee, and no member/non-member fee split is published. In other words, the fee buys the training delivery plus the certification process together, not a standalone test sitting you could purchase separately.

That bundling has a practical consequence for how you should think about "risk" around passing: since there's no indication of a separate, cheaper exam-only retake fee published, it's worth over-preparing before you register rather than treating the first attempt as a low-cost trial run. For the complete fee breakdown and what's and isn't included, see CCTS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Recertification: The Other Pass/Fail Moment

CCTS isn't a one-time credential. TIA requires recertification every two years via an online exam. No separate continuing-education-unit requirement is published alongside this, and the renewal fee and test specifications for that recertification exam are not publicly detailed. If you're mapping out the full lifecycle of the credential - not just the initial training week - it helps to treat the two-year recertification exam as a second checkpoint worth scheduling time for, not an afterthought.

Plan the lifecycle, not just the exam date: Mark your two-year recertification window as soon as you're initially certified. Review the CCTS Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling guide to understand how scheduling fits around TIA's training calendar.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there an official CCTS pass rate published anywhere?

No. TIA has not publicly disclosed a pass rate for the Certified CTS Instructor, 400 Level (CCTS) program. Any specific percentage you see cited elsewhere should be treated as unverified or imported from a different credential.

Why doesn't TIA publish exam statistics for CCTS?

CCTS is a TIA-administered course and assessment rather than a large, third-party-proctored exam program, and no external vendor has been identified. Organizations running their own in-house certification programs don't always publish the kind of aggregate statistics seen with large standardized testing vendors.

Does passing the written exam mean I'm certified?

No. Certification requires both final examination success and a witnessed, signed-off practical shop skills demonstration. Written practice does not replace the practical assessment and does not by itself confer CCTS certification.

How many questions are on the CCTS exam?

Question count, time limit, item format, and passing score for the initial exam are not publicly verified. Prepare based on mastering all 19 published course modules rather than targeting a specific item count.

Can I retake the CCTS exam if I don't pass?

Retake rules are unverified in TIA's current public materials. Because the $950 fee covers the four-day training and certification together rather than a standalone exam sitting, it's wise to prepare thoroughly before your first attempt rather than assume a low-cost retake path exists.

Until TIA releases more granular statistics, the most reliable path forward isn't chasing a number that doesn't exist publicly - it's building real fluency across all 19 modules, rehearsing the practical skills you'll be judged on, and using tools like the CCTS practice tests to find your gaps before training day. For a deeper look at whether the credential pays off once you've earned it, see Is the CCTS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Ready to pass your CCTS exam?

Put this into practice with free CCTS questions across every exam domain.